Leadership

Our employees are our biggest asset. They represent and support each manufacturer’s business as if it were their own. This entrepreneurial mindset has been part of our culture since Harry O’Hare founded the company in 1956.

Today, we have over 500 dedicated and passionate JOH Associates who are guided by our leadership team and division managers.

Chip O’Hare

Chairman Emeritus
cohare@johare.com

Experience

40 years at JOH

Education

Harvard University, BA 1971
Harvard University, MBA 1975

 

Achievements

MFA Person of the Year 2012
IFBA division of NARMS (Founder, Executive Chairman)
ASMC (Board Chairman ’02, Director ’95 – ’03)
GMA (Board of Directors ’01 – ’02)
MFA (Director & Executive Committee ’92 – Present)
New England Food Foundation (President ’94)
Boys Town of Italy (Man of the Year ’95)
Broker Advisory Committees:

  • Colgate-Palmolive, Chairman
  • Melitta U.S.A., Chairman
  • Reckitt Benckiser, Member
  • Playtex Products, Member
  • Solo Cup Company, Chairman

John Saidnawey

Chairman & CEO
jsaidnawey@johare.com

Experience

JOH

  • Chairman & CEO ’17 – Present
  • President & COO ’03 – ’17
  • Executive Vice President, Non-Food Division ’88 – ’03
  • Account Executive, HQ Sales ’84 – ‘88
  • Retail Merchandiser ’82 – ’84

Education

Boston University School of Management, BS 1982

Achievements

Kids 360 Charity (President & Director, ’13 – Present)
New England Food Foundation (President, Director ’94 – ’04)
Broker Advisory Committees

  • Colgate/Palmolive, Gillette, Idahoan Foods, Continental Mills

FMI, Industry Relations Committee
National Association of Chain Drug Stores, Outreach Committee
CVS, Vendor Summit Council Board Member
BJ’s Wholesale Club, Summit Meeting Attendee
Ahold, Vendor Advisory Board Member
Wake Forest University, Center for Entrepreneurship Advisory Council Member
GMA Chairman’s Advisory Council
Published in the following White Papers

  • Maximizing the Impact of Outsourcing, Bain & Company
  • Sustainability Trends and Shopper Insights, Deloitte

Matt O’Hare

President & COO
mohare@johare.com

Experience

JOH

  • President & COO ’17 – Present
  • Senior VP, Corporate Development ’15 – ’17
  • Director, Frozen & Dairy ’13 – ’15
  • Account Executive ’11 – ’13

HS&R Sales and Marketing

  • Data Analyst—Dairy, Frozen, Deli – ’11

Infosys

  • Associate Engagement Manager—Apple – ’09 ‒ ’10 033

Asset Management – ’03 ‒ ’07

  • Equity Analyst
  • Focus on Technology, Software, E-Commerce, and Online Advertising

JOH

  • Retail Merchandiser – ’95 ‒ ’99

Education

Stanford University, MBA 2009
Harvard University, BA 2002

Achievements

FRANE Board Member – 2012‒Present
NFRA Board Member – 2012‒Present
MFA Board Member – 2013‒Present
NEFF
Board Member – 2013‒Present

Rick Alpern

Director of Marketing
ralpern@johare.com

Carl Annese

Senior VP, Corporate
Retail Operations
cannese@johare.com

Paul Bassett

VP, Retail Merchandising
pbassett@johare.com

Tom Casey

EVP, Regional Director, Produce & Floral
tcasey@johare.com

Gerry Castignetti

EVP, Sales Manager Grocery, Frozen & Dairy
gcastignetti@johare.com

Chris Darmody

EVP, Fresh
cdarmody@johare.com

Steve Fanion

VP, Team Leader, Ahold Delhaize
sfanion@johare.com

Brian Gasuik

EVP, General Manager, Upstate NY
bgasuik@johare.com

Laura George

Director of Human Resources
lgeorge@johare.com

Jerry Larsson

VP, Grocery
jlarsson@johare.com

Pete Legambi

EVP, General Manager, Mid-Atlantic
plegambi@johare.com

Will Martins

SVP, Finance
wmartins@johare.com

Jim Oettinger

EVP, Metro NY/NJ Produce
joettinger@johare.com

Art Papazian

EVP, Specialty
apapazian@johare.com

Melissa Passalaqua

Director of Category Management
mpassalaqua@johare.com

Gary Rosenthal

EVP, General Manager, Metro NY/NJ
grosenthal@johare.com

Kevin Shea

EVP, Confection
kshea@johare.com

Kathy Sullivan

VP, Alternate Channel
ksullivan@johare.com

Kevin Tassinari

EVP, Non Foods
ktassinari@johare.com